Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries have closed to the public indefinitely to prevent the spread of the coronavirus. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing during this time.

Record Details

Catalog Search



The Bitter Side Of Sweet / Tara Sullan.

Sullan, Tara, (author.). Recorded Books, Inc. (Added Author).

Links

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at Bibliomation.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Derby Public Library DOWNLOADABLE EBOOK. CLICK ON THE LINK TO ACCESS. (Text to phone) derby1693749438361 CT State Library Downloadable E-Book In process -

Record details

Content descriptions

Restrictions on Access Note:
Access restricted to subscribing institutions.
Summary, etc.:
For fans of Linda Sue Park and A Long Way Gone, two young boys must escape a life of slavery in modern-day Ivory Coast Fifteen-year-old Amadou counts the things that matter. For two years what has mattered are the number of cacao pods he and his younger brother, Seydou, can chop down in a day. This number is very important. The higher the number the safer they are because the bosses won't beat them. The higher the number the closer they are to paying off their debt and returning home to Baba and Auntie. Maybe. The problem is Amadou doesn't know how much he and Seydou owe, and the bosses won't tell him. The boys only wanted to make some money during the dry season to help their impoverished family. Instead they were tricked into forced labor on a plantation in the Ivory Coast; they spend day after day living on little food and harvesting beans in the hot sun-dangerous, backbreaking work. With no hope of escape, all they can do is try their best to stay alive-until Khadija comes into their lives. She's the first girl who's ever come to camp, and she's a wild thing. She fights bravely every day, attempting escape again and again, reminding Amadou what it means to be free. But finally, the bosses break her, and what happens next to the brother he has always tried to protect almost breaks Amadou. The old impulse to run is suddenly awakened. The three band together as family and try just once more to escape. Tara Sullivan, the award-winning author of the astounding Golden Boy, delivers another powerful, riveting, and moving tale of children fighting to make a difference and be counted. Inspired by true-to-life events happening right now, The Bitter Side of Sweet is an exquisitely written tour de force not to be missed.
Target Audience Note:
7 years and up
Additional Physical Form available Note:
Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
Source of Description Note:
Title from resource description page (Recorded Books, viewed September 08, 2015).
Subject: Juvenile fiction.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources